Exploring the Chakra System: Understanding Our Energy Centers

by | Feb 21, 2024 | Blog, Blog Post | 0 comments

I thought it would be interesting to talk about the chakra system, or ‘energy centers,’ – a concept that may be very familiar to some and new to others. The term ‘Chakra’ means ‘wheel’ in Sanskrit, and these energy points are aligned along our spine, extending from the top of our head to the base of our spine, reaching down to our perineum area.

The chakra system is a rich and complex topic so I’ll only scratch the surface in this blog to give you a basic understanding. It’s important to remember that each person’s experience with chakras can be unique, as we all have different bodies and systems.

Let’s start with the first chakra, the root chakra, which is red and governs basic needs like food, safety, and shelter. Formed between ages 0 and 7, the experiences we have during this period significantly influence how this chakra is balanced throughout our lives.

The second chakra, the sacral chakra, is orange and located about three fingers below the belly button. It’s tied to our creativity, sexuality, and soul identity, forming between ages 8 and 14, coinciding with the onset of puberty.

Moving up, the third chakra is the solar plexus, located just above the belly button. This yellow chakra relates to our ego, identity, and personal power, not in terms of money or greed, but more about inner authority and self-assertion. This chakra’s development occurs between ages 15 and 21, a time of growing independence and self-discovery.

The fourth chakra, the heart chakra, is green and situated in the center of the chest. It encompasses how we love ourselves and others and is connected to compassion and trust. This chakra develops from ages 22 to 28, a period often marked by deeper romantic relationships and self-love.

The fifth chakra, the throat chakra, is blue and located at the throat. It’s tied to finding our voice and self-expression, as well as being a seat of intuition. Its development spans ages 29 to 35, a time when many are finding their place and voice in the world.

The sixth chakra, the third eye, located between the eyebrows, is indigo. It relates to our intuition and ‘extra’ senses. People often experience spiritual awakenings during the development phase between ages 36 and 42.

Lastly, the crown chakra, violet and situated at the top of the head, is connected to spiritual evolution. Developing between ages 43 and 49, it’s a time when many dive deeper into spiritual questions and the search for meaning beyond material accomplishments.

It’s important to note that these stages are generalizations and not absolute truths for everyone. Some people are born with heightened intuitive senses and may have different life paths. Interestingly, each chakra takes about seven years to form, aligning with the spiritual significance of the number seven. As we go through these cycles, starting again after age 49, we often revisit these chakras, unraveling imprints and traumas formed during their initial development stages.

A fun Chakra fact my kids love is that they form a rainbow in our body: red, orange, yellow, green, blue, indigo, and violet!

You May Also Like…

How Your Challenges Can Deepen Your Intuition

How Your Challenges Can Deepen Your Intuition

We all have this natural ability to tap into our intuition, especially when making decisions, facing challenges, or feeling overwhelmed. I always say this, but life is always loving you, everything is to your advantage, and every obstacle is a path to something you...

Ego Death and Spiritual Molting

Ego Death and Spiritual Molting

We've been led to believe that the spiritual path is all about love and light, where communing with God and nature brings a constant state of wonder and bliss. However, this is not always the case. While life is magnificent and wonderful, it doesn't mean that there...


Submit a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *